Planung und Analyse für kritische Werttreiber, Teil 1: Wachstum und Rentabilität

Von Daniele Tedesco, CEO von Apliqo

Am 28. April 2022 wird Apliqo Teil 1 unseres zweiteiligen Masterclass über kritische Werttreiber veranstalten. Zum Auftakt der Reihe werden wir uns mit Wachstum und Rentabilität befassen, zwei Prinzipien, die oft um den Fokus des Unternehmens konkurrieren, aber beide einen Platz in unserer Geschäftsstrategie verdienen.

Lesen Sie weiter, um zu erfahren, wie Ihr FP&A-Team Ihrem Unternehmen helfen kann, das Wachstum anzukurbeln und profitabel zu bleiben, indem es den Umsatz, die Gewinnspannen, die betriebliche Effizienz und das Kapitalmanagement verbessert.

Wachstum vs. Rentabilität: Zwei Seiten der gleichen Medaille?

"Wachstum und Wert sind Teil derselben Gleichung".

Warren Buffet

Traditionell sehen die meisten Menschen Wachstum und Rentabilität als zwei konkurrierende Geschäftsstrategien. Tatsächlich aber wird jedes Unternehmen, das erfolgreich sein will, irgendwann im Laufe seines Lebenszyklus und in unterschiedlichem Maße sowohl Wachstums- als auch Rentabilitätsstrategien anpassen müssen.

Viele Start-ups oder Marktplätze konzentrieren sich beispielsweise zu Beginn ihres Lebenszyklus hauptsächlich auf das Wachstum. "Wenn Sie glauben, dass Ihre Kategorie ein Marktplatz ist, sind Marktplätze in der Regel besser, wenn sie größer sind. Das liegt daran, dass sie den Kunden eine bessere Erfahrung bieten. Es geht nicht darum, größer zu sein, nur um des Ego willen, sondern weil die Erfahrung für den Kunden besser ist", sagte Oisin Hanraha, Gründer und CEO von Handy, in einem Interview für SLUSH Helsinki.

Aber sich nur auf das Wachstum des Unternehmens zu konzentrieren, reicht offensichtlich nicht aus, nicht einmal für Start-ups. Unternehmen müssen vor dem Wachstum investieren, was eine Menge Geld verschlingt. Und während Wachstum eine gesunde Strategie sein kann, solange Ihr Unternehmen noch jung ist und sich entwickelt, kann es leichtsinnig sein, sich zu lange auf Wachstum zu konzentrieren, wenn das Unternehmen reift, da es Sie in Zeiten der Unsicherheit angreifbar macht.

"Diese Debatte darüber, ob Sie rentabel sein wollen, ob Sie wachsen wollen oder wie viel davon für Ihr Unternehmen wichtig ist, ist eine Frage des Zeitpunkts. Es gibt keine richtige oder falsche Antwort, und sie kann sich im Laufe des Lebens Ihres Unternehmens immer wieder ändern", sagt Matt Blumberg in ein Kurs für die Kauffman Founders School.

Als FP&A-Experten haben wir eine doppelte Aufgabe: Einerseits sollen unsere Pläne, Berichte und Analysen den wichtigsten Entscheidungsträgern unseres Unternehmens helfen, Wachstumschancen zu erkennen. Gleichzeitig soll FP&A durch eine einheitliche Sichtweise auf performance im gesamten Unternehmen und in den verschiedenen Betrieben/Abteilungen dazu beitragen, Wege zu finden, wie unser Unternehmen rentabler werden kann.

Wir können dies erreichen, indem wir uns auf die folgenden 3 Schlüsselfaktoren für Wachstum und Rentabilität konzentrieren:

Hinweis: Jedes Unternehmen ist anders, aber Sie werden wahrscheinlich feststellen, dass die 3 Faktoren, die ich im Folgenden nenne, bei vielen Unternehmen in verschiedenen Branchen für Wachstum und Rentabilität sorgen.

Umsatzwachstum und Gewinnspannen

Die ordnungsgemäße reporting und Analyse der Einnahmen und Gewinnspannen Ihres Unternehmens ist sowohl in Zeiten des Wachstums als auch der Rentabilität von entscheidender Bedeutung. Der Umsatz, d. h. das Geld, das Ihr Unternehmen erwirtschaftet, erzeugt direkt Barmittel für künftige Wachstumsinvestitionen, und steigende Umsatzmargen sind ein deutliches Zeichen dafür, dass Ihr Unternehmen wächst. Wenn es an der Zeit ist, sich auf die Rentabilität zu konzentrieren, sind Umsätze und Gewinnspannen ebenso wichtige Messgrößen, um mehr Gewinn zu erzielen.

Operative Wirksamkeit

Die Optimierung Ihrer Abläufe trägt dazu bei, dass Sie sich in Ihrem Unternehmen sicher fühlen. In FP&A können wir Automatisierung, Digitalisierung, Visualisierung und andere Methoden nutzen, um unsere Finanzprozesse zu rationalisieren und uns auf mehr wertschöpfende Tätigkeiten zu konzentrieren, statt auf manuelle Dateneingabe, Excel usw. Dadurch wird Ihr Unternehmen agiler und kann Wachstumschancen schneller erkennen und nutzen. In Zeiten der Stabilität hingegen kann uns operative Effizienz dabei helfen, die Kosten zu senken und die Gewinnspannen zu verbessern, um die langfristige Nachhaltigkeit zu fördern.

Kapitalmanagement

Egal, ob Sie wachsen oder versuchen, Ihre Rentabilität zu steigern, Bargeld wird immer der wichtigste Faktor sein. Die Berichterstattung und Analyse des Kapitals Ihres Unternehmens und die Suche nach Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten werden den Cashflow Ihres Unternehmens steigern, den Sie entweder in weitere Wachstumsmöglichkeiten reinvestieren oder zur Steigerung der Rentabilität verwenden können. Die Verbesserung des Bargeldkreislaufs Ihres Unternehmens ist beispielsweise eine sehr spezifische und wirksame Methode zur Verbesserung des Kapitalmanagements Ihres Unternehmens.

In unserem nächsten Masterclass wird Jack Alexander Ihnen detailliert zeigen, wie Sie die Einnahmen, Margen und das Kapitalmanagement Ihres Unternehmens besser planen, berichten und analysieren können, um Wachstum und Rentabilität zu fördern.

Melden Sie sich hier für unser Masterclass anund besuchen Sie die Apliqo blog für weitere FP&A Trends und Tipps.

Planning and Analysis for Critical Value Drivers, Part 1: Growth & Profitability

By Daniele Tedesco, CEO of Apliqo

On April 28th, 2022, Apliqo will be hosting Part 1 of our 2-part Masterclass on Critical Value Drivers. To kick off the series, we’ll be looking at growth and profitability, two principles that often contend for the company’s focus but both deserve a place in our business strategy.

Read on to learn how your FP&A team can help your company fuel growth and stay profitable by improving revenue, margins, operational effectiveness, and capital management.

Growth Vs. Profitability: Two sides of the same coin?

“Growth and value are part of the same equation.”

Warren Buffet

Traditionally, most people see growth and profitability as 2 competing business strategies. But really, any company wanting to be successful will find itself needing to adapt both growth and profitability strategies at some point throughout its lifecycle and to different degrees.

Many startups or marketplaces, for example, focus primarily on growth during the beginning of their lifecycle. “If you believe that your category is a marketplace, marketplaces are typically better when they’re bigger. It’s because it delivers a better experience for the customers. It’s not about being bigger just for ego, it’s about being bigger because the experience for the customer is better,” said Oisin Hanraha, Founder and CEO of Handy, in an interview for SLUSH Helsinki.

But focusing solely on growing your company obviously isn’t enough, not even for startups. Companies have to invest ahead of growth, which consumes a lot of cash. And while growing can be a healthy strategy while your business is young and taking off, focusing on growth for too long as the company matures can be foolhardy as it leaves you vulnerable during times of uncertainty.

“This debate about whether you want to be profitable, whether you want to grow, or how much of which is important for your business is a point-in-time thing. There is no right or wrong answer, and it can change many times over in the course of your company’s life,” says Matt Blumberg in a course for the Kauffman Founders School.

As FP&A professionals, our job is bifold; on one hand, our plans, reports and analysis should help our company’s key decision makers identify opportunities for growth. At the same time, by employing a unified view of performance across the company and its various operations/departments, FP&A also should help identify ways for our company to become more profitable.

Some ways we can do this is by honing in on the following 3 key drivers of both growth and profitability:

Note: Every company is different, but you’ll likely find the 3 drivers I mention below to drive growth and profitability at many companies across various industries.

Revenue growth and margins

Properly reporting and analyzing your company’s revenues and margins is key during both times of growth and profitability. Revenue, or the money your company is generating, directly produces cash to feed your future growth investments, and increasing revenue margins are a tell-tale sign that your company is growing. When it’s time to focus on profitability, revenue and margins are just as important metrics for generating more profit.

Operational effectiveness

Optimizing your operations helps build peace of mind in your company. In FP&A, we can use automation, digitization, visualization, and other methodologies to streamline our finance processes and start focusing on more value-added activities rather than manual data entry, Excel, etc. This will make your company more agile and better at spotting as well as acting on growth opportunities more quickly. During times of stability, on the other hand, operational effectiveness can help us reduce costs and improve profit margins to promote long-term sustainability.

Capital management

Whether you’re growing or trying to increase profitability, cash is always going to be king. Reporting and analyzing your company’s capital and finding ways to improve it will boost your company’s cash flow, which you can either reinvest into more growth opportunities or use to increase profitability. Improving your company’s cash cycle, for example, is a very specific and effective way to enhance your company’s capital management.

In our upcoming Masterclass, Jack Alexander will walk you through detailed ways you can better plant, report on, and analyze your organization’s revenues, margins, and capital management to fuel both growth and profitability.

Enroll in our Masterclass here, and visit the Apliqo blog for more FP&A trends and tips.

More resources

Lower your data latency and improve your business decision-making

There’s a term in network technology called ‘latency’ which refers to the delay between the execution of a command and the instruction given by the user. You’ll hear it most often in the world of high-speed training where a slight increase in latency (to the effect of a couple of milliseconds) can have a drastic negative impact on speed and thus performance.

Read this article

How strong FP&A solutions improve data literacy

As most of us realise, there is useful data and not-so-useful data. And merely having it at your disposal doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re able to discern between these two camps. It’s often only in the processing phase where we dig into the data and look for insights that we discover whether the data we’ve collected can actually drive us forward, rather than remaining a red herring.

Read this article

5 common mistakes when building financial models

Critics of financial modelling will always tell you that there are simply too many moving parts and interdependencies within a company to arrive at an accurate prediction of the future. They’ll point to how easy it is to adjust an input assumption and completely change the entire scope of what the model outputs. And to a certain extent – they’re right.

Read this article

Unlocking a new operating model for finance

Much has been written about how changing tides, rapid disruption, and global trends impact the customer-facing side of business today.  You can open any business publication of your choice and hear stories of how technology has completely changed how they think about their offering and their messaging to the market. 

Read this article

The 10 commandments of FP&A

Here at Apliqo, the FP&A process is at the heart of what we do and so in this post, we thought we’d share our 10 commandments for what strong FP&A execution looks like. While somewhat tongue-in-cheek, there’s a lot to be gained from getting these things right. Now, without any further ado, onto the ten commandments.

Read this article
Ten commandments of FP&A