Dynamische treiberbasierte Planung: Einführung von rollierenden Prognosen

von Daniele Tedesco

Als ich vor über 15 Jahren meine Laufbahn im Finanzwesen begann, war die Rolle von CFOs und Finanzfachleuten rein buchhalterisch orientiert. 

Nun, da FP&A eine Schlüsselrolle bei der strategischen Entscheidungsfindung einnimmt, glaube ich, dass wir uns in einer Goldenes Zeitalter wo CFOs und ihre Teams endlich die Chance haben, sich zu profilieren und einen echten Mehrwert für ihr Unternehmen zu schaffen.

Die Erfüllung dieser neuen Aufgaben ist jedoch nicht ohne Herausforderungen. Als CFO müssen Sie Ihre buchhalterische Denkweise ablegen, Ihre persönlichen Fähigkeiten und die Ihres Teams erweitern und neue Planungs-/reporting-Methoden einführen, die den Bedürfnissen Ihres Unternehmens besser entsprechen.

In unserer nächsten Ausgabe von Masterclass wird unser Gastgeber Jack Alexander einen ausführlichen Blick auf Rolling Forecasts werfen, eine wichtige Prognosemethode, die ich als ein "Muss" für jeden Finanzfachmann betrachte, der seine neue Rolle annehmen und einen echten Mehrwert für sein Unternehmen schaffen möchte.

Sichern Sie sich Ihren Platz für dieses exklusive Masterclass hierund lesen Sie weiter, um eine Einführung in diese leistungsstarke, dynamische Planungsmethode zu erhalten.

Verständnis der gleitenden Vorausschätzungen

Rolling Forecasts sind ein leistungsfähiges Instrument und eine Methodik, die es Unternehmen ermöglichen, regelmäßige, dynamische Einblicke in ihre performance zu erhalten.

Traditionelle Prognosen stützen sich auf Daten aus der Vergangenheit, um eine statische, einseitige Sicht auf die Zukunft zu konstruieren. Und obwohl sie jahrelang als Grundlage für die Finanzplanung und analytics gedient haben, scheinen diese Ansätze heute engstirnig zu sein, insbesondere wenn man sie mit dem schnelllebigen, turbulenten Geschäftsklima vergleicht, in dem wir uns derzeit bewegen.

Hier kommen die rollierenden Prognosen ins Spiel. Anstatt einen statischen Blick in die Zukunft zu werfen, werden rollierende Prognosen ständig überprüft, um einen fundierteren und realistischeren Blick auf die Zukunft eines Unternehmens zu ermöglichen. Auf diese Weise werden viele der Beschränkungen herkömmlicher Prognosen überwunden und es wird ein flexiblerer Ansatz für die Pläne Ihres Unternehmens geschaffen.

Um zu verdeutlichen, wie rollierende Prognosen funktionieren und welches Potenzial sie haben, hilft es, sie sich in Aktion vorzustellen: Während der herkömmliche 12-Monats-Plan Ihres Unternehmens weiter schrumpft, wenn er sich der "Klippe des Geschäftsjahres" nähert, wird eine rollierende Prognose regelmäßig aktualisiert (in der Regel vierteljährlich), so dass sie ihren 12-Monats-Horizont (oder je nach Branche auch kürzer oder länger) nie verliert.

Diese erweiterten Prognosen ermöglichen es Ihnen und den wichtigsten Entscheidungsträgern Ihres Unternehmens, agil zu bleiben, schnell auf Veränderungen zu reagieren und performance-Lücken leichter zu erkennen.

Darüber hinaus habe ich persönlich festgestellt, dass rollierende Prognosen bei der Entwicklung von Szenarien für die Szenarioplanung besonders nützlich sind. Im Gegensatz zu traditionellen, statischen Prognosen hilft der dynamische Charakter einer rollierenden Prognose den CFOs und ihren Teams natürlich dabei, sich verschiedene Zukunftsszenarien vorzustellen und deren Auswirkungen auf das Unternehmen zu analysieren.

Tipps für die Annahme von rollierenden Prognosen

Während die meisten FP&A-Fachleute das Potenzial dynamischer rollierender Prognosen erkennen, bin ich immer wieder überrascht, wie viele Finanzabteilungen oder Unternehmen sich schwer tun, sie zu übernehmen.

Dies ist wahrscheinlich darauf zurückzuführen, dass viele Unternehmen (unabhängig von ihrer Größe oder ihren Tätigkeiten) und ihre Finanzprozesse einfach zu sehr in der Tradition verwurzelt sind. In meinen früheren Beiträgen habe ich ausführlich über die "Buchhaltungsmentalität" und ihre lähmende Wirkung auf die Fähigkeit von FP&A-Abteilungen gesprochen, echten Mehrwert für ihre Unternehmen zu schaffen.

Das heutige schnelllebige, unsichere Geschäftsklima hat jedoch rasch ein Umfeld für Veränderungen geschaffen. Jedes Unternehmen, das ernsthaft wachsen will, muss sich der Bedeutung von FP&A für das Management von performance und die Umsetzung der Strategie bewusst sein, und jeder CFO, der ernsthaft den Wert seines Unternehmens steigern will, muss rollierende Prognosen in die Planungsprozesse seines Teams einbeziehen.

Um die Einführung rollierender Prognosen in Ihrem Unternehmen zu optimieren, empfehle ich die folgenden bewährten Verfahren:

  • Richten Sie Ihr Augenmerk auf die wichtigsten Faktoren für Ihr Geschäft. Um verlässliche rollierende Prognosen zu erstellen, müssen Sie ein klares Verständnis für die wichtigsten Maßnahmen haben, die den Wert Ihres Unternehmens steigern.

  • Wählen Sie die richtige CPM-Lösung. Es ist unmöglich, in Excel aussagekräftige rollierende Prognosen zu erstellen. Sie müssen in der Lage sein, Zahlen aus einer einheitlichen Quelle zu beziehen und Änderungen bei den wichtigsten Einflussfaktoren Ihres Unternehmens in einer Sandbox zu analysieren, die Ihre Quelldaten nicht beeinträchtigt und in der Lage ist, große Datensätze in einer real-time-Umgebung zu verwalten, die von der gesamten Organisation gemeinsam genutzt werden kann.

  • Beginnen Sie mit der Szenarioanalyse. Die Erstellung von Was-wäre-wenn-Szenarien auf der Grundlage von Veränderungen bei den wichtigsten Faktoren Ihres Unternehmens ist die einzige Möglichkeit, verlässliche Pläne für die Zukunft zu erstellen. Siehe unser Webinar zum Thema Szenariomodellierung für weitere Tipps zur Einführung der Szenarioanalyse.

  • Abweichungsanalyse verwenden um die Genauigkeit Ihrer rollierenden Prognose zu messen.

  • Hinterfragen Sie den Traditionalismus. Leider werden verfahrenstechnische Änderungen nicht ausreichen, um die Art und Weise, wie Ihr Unternehmen Finanzen betreibt, wirklich zu verändern. Als CFO ist es Ihre Aufgabe, Ihrem Team dabei zu helfen, seine traditionelle "Buchhaltungsmentalität" abzulegen und sich seiner neuen Rolle zu stellen.

In meinen über 15 Jahren Erfahrung mit FP&A habe ich noch nie eine aufregendere Zeit erlebt. Mit den richtigen Ideologien, Methoden und Technologien hat Ihre FP&A-Abteilung das Potenzial, sich zu einem wichtigen strategischen Partner zu entwickeln, der zum Erfolg oder Misserfolg Ihres Unternehmens beitragen kann.

Für eine detailliertere Betrachtung der rollierenden Prognosen, Kommen Sie am 19. August zu unserem Masterclass zu Fast Track implementing Rolling and Extended Forecasts mit Jack Alexander.

Dynamic driver-based planning: Introducing rolling forecasts

by Daniele Tedesco

When I started my finance career over 15 years ago, the role of CFOs and finance professionals was purely accounting orientated. 

Now, as FP&A takes on a key role in guiding strategic decision making, I like to think we’re entering a Golden Age where CFOs and their teams finally have the chance to step up and drive real value for their organisations.

Fulfilling these new roles, however, doesn’t come without challenges. As CFO, you need to ditch the accounting mindset, broaden both your personal skill set and that of your team, and implement new planning/reporting methodologies that better suit the needs of your company.

In our upcoming Masterclass, our host Jack Alexander will be taking an in-depth look at Rolling Forecasts, a key forecasting method that I consider a “must-have” for any finance professional looking to embrace their new role and drive real value for their business.

Save your seat for this exclusive Masterclass here, and keep reading for an introduction to this powerful, dynamic planning method.

Understanding rolling forecasts

Rolling forecasts are a powerful tool and methodology that allow companies to get regular, dynamic insights into their performance.

Traditional forecasting relies on past data to construct a static, single-point view of the future. And while they have served as the foundation of financial planning and analytics for years, these approaches now seem narrow-sighted, especially when held up against the fast-paced, tumultuous business climate we’re currently operating in.

That’s where rolling forecasts come in. Rather than holding a static view of the future, rolling forecasts undergo constant review to provide a more informed and realistic view of the future of a business. In doing so, they address many of the limitations of traditional forecasts and naturally help instil more agile approaches to your company’s plans.

To help highlight how rolling forecasts work and the potential they hold, it helps to imagine them in action; whereas your company’s traditional 12-month plan will continue to shrink as it approaches the “fiscal year cliff,” a rolling forecast will periodically be updated (generally every quarter) so as to never lose its 12-month (or even shorter or longer, depending on the industry) horizon.

In doing so, these extended forecasts allow you and your company’s key decision makers to stay agile, respond to changes quickly, and spot performance gaps more easily.

Moreover, I’ve personally found rolling forecasts to be especially useful in developing scenarios for Scenario Planning. As opposed to traditional, static forecasts, the dynamic nature of a rolling forecast naturally helps open CFOs and their teams up to imagining different future scenarios and analyse their impact on the company.

Tips for adopting rolling forecasts

While most FP&A professionals realise the potential of dynamic rolling forecasts, I’m continuously surprised by the number of finance departments or companies struggling to adopt them.

This likely comes down to the fact that many companies (regardless of their size or operations) and their finance processes are simply too rooted in tradition. In my previous posts, I’ve extensively talked about the “accounting mindset” and its crippling effect on the ability of FP&A departments to drive real value for their companies.

Today’s fast-paced, uncertain business climate, however, has rapidly created an environment for change. Any company serious about growth needs to realise the importance of FP&A in managing performance and driving strategy, and any CFO serious about driving value at his/her organisation needs to be incorporating rolling forecasts into their team’s planning processes.

To help streamline your company’s adoption of rolling forecasts, I recommend the following best practices:

  • Set your sights on the key drivers of your business. In order to produce reliable rolling forecasts, you need to have a clear understanding of the key measures that drive value for your business.

  • Adopt the right CPM solution. There’s no way you’re going to create meaningful rolling forecasts in Excel. You need to be able to draw numbers from a unified source and analyse changes to your company’s key drivers in a sandbox that doesn’t affect your source data and is capable of managing large data sets in a real-time environment that can be used by the whole organisation in a collaborative way.

  • Start using scenario analysis. Creating what-if scenarios based on changes to your company’s key drivers is the only way to make reliable plans for the future. See our webinar on Scenario Modelling for more tips on how to adopt scenario analysis.

  • Use variance analysis to measure the accuracy of your rolling forecast.

  • Challenge traditionalism. Unfortunately, procedural change won’t be enough to truly transform how your company does finance. As CFO, it’s your job to help your team ditch its traditional “accounting mindset” and step up to its new role.

In my 15+ years of FP&A experience, I’ve never lived a more exciting time. With the right ideologies, methodologies, and technology, your FP&A department has the potential to grow into a key strategic partner that can help make or break your business.

For a more detailed look at rolling forecasts, join us on August 19th for our Masterclass on Fast Track implementing Rolling and Extended Forecasts with Jack Alexander.

More resources

Lower your data latency and improve your business decision-making

There’s a term in network technology called ‘latency’ which refers to the delay between the execution of a command and the instruction given by the user. You’ll hear it most often in the world of high-speed training where a slight increase in latency (to the effect of a couple of milliseconds) can have a drastic negative impact on speed and thus performance.

Read this article

How strong FP&A solutions improve data literacy

As most of us realise, there is useful data and not-so-useful data. And merely having it at your disposal doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re able to discern between these two camps. It’s often only in the processing phase where we dig into the data and look for insights that we discover whether the data we’ve collected can actually drive us forward, rather than remaining a red herring.

Read this article

5 common mistakes when building financial models

Critics of financial modelling will always tell you that there are simply too many moving parts and interdependencies within a company to arrive at an accurate prediction of the future. They’ll point to how easy it is to adjust an input assumption and completely change the entire scope of what the model outputs. And to a certain extent – they’re right.

Read this article

Unlocking a new operating model for finance

Much has been written about how changing tides, rapid disruption, and global trends impact the customer-facing side of business today.  You can open any business publication of your choice and hear stories of how technology has completely changed how they think about their offering and their messaging to the market. 

Read this article

The 10 commandments of FP&A

Here at Apliqo, the FP&A process is at the heart of what we do and so in this post, we thought we’d share our 10 commandments for what strong FP&A execution looks like. While somewhat tongue-in-cheek, there’s a lot to be gained from getting these things right. Now, without any further ado, onto the ten commandments.

Read this article
Ten commandments of FP&A