Machen Sie Ihre Berichte wichtig: Wie das dynamische reporting Ihr Geschäft verbessern kann

Daten sind König - dieses Schlagwort haben Sie wahrscheinlich schon öfter gehört (und wahrscheinlich auch wiederholt), als Sie zählen können. Und es ist wahr: Ohne gute Daten beruhen die Entscheidungen, die über Erfolg oder Misserfolg Ihres Unternehmens entscheiden, auf Vermutungen.

Bei dem Versuch, möglichst viele Erkenntnisse über das Unternehmen zu gewinnen, sehen wir jedoch, dass die Unternehmen in Daten ertrinken, aber nach Informationen hungern. Der Grund dafür ist Daten sind totund wird nur dann nützlich, wenn sie verständlich und umsetzbar gemacht wird. 

Wie kann Ihr Unternehmen also vermeiden, in einem Meer von Daten zu ertrinken, und lernen, die statischen Zahlen in Ihren Excel-Tabellen in verwertbare Erkenntnisse umzuwandeln, die Ihr Unternehmen auf die nächste Stufe heben?

In diesem Artikel werfen wir einen Blick auf die dynamische reporting, eine Untergruppe der Datenvisualisierung, die Ihren Berichten Leben einhaucht, Ressourcen freisetzt und eine intuitive Möglichkeit bietet, mit Unternehmensdaten zu interagieren bzw. diese zu analysieren und strategische Entscheidungen zu treffen. 

Datenentwicklung und aktueller Stand der reporting

Nehmen Sie diese Aussage: 

Das Unternehmen Investment A hat in den letzten 12 Monaten eine Rendite von 3% erzielt.


Ziemlich unpraktisch, oder?
Vergleichen Sie dies mit dem hier: 

Das Unternehmen Investment A hat in den letzten 12 Monaten eine Rendite von 3% erzielt. Die allgemeine Benchmark-Rendite für Investitionen liegt bei 2,3%, und die beste Rendite für das gesamte Anlageportfolio des Unternehmens beträgt 3,2%


Dieses einfache Beispiel zeigt, dass rohe Daten völlig nutzlos sind. Ohne Interpretation und Analyse sind Daten nichts weiter als ein unorganisiertes, nicht greifbares Durcheinander von Fakten und Zahlen, das keinerlei Einblick in ein Unternehmen, seine performance oder die Chancen/Herausforderungen, denen es gegenübersteht, bietet. Dennoch stellen die meisten Unternehmen fest, dass ihre Finanzabteilungen die meiste Zeit mit der Datenjagd verbringen. 

In einer kürzlich durchgeführten AFP/APQC-Umfragegaben 430 globale FP&A-Fachleute an, dass sie 42% ihrer Zeit mit der Datenerfassung, 33% mit der Verwaltung manueller Prozesse und nur 25% mit hochwertigen Analysen verbringen. 

In einer Zeit, in der sich Unternehmen mehr denn je auf die Finanzabteilung verlassen, um das Unternehmen zu steuern, stecken CFOs und ihre Teams immer noch in der Datenerfassung, -aufbereitung und -bereinigung fest, anstatt ihre Fähigkeiten auf die Erstellung von wertschöpfenden Analysen zu konzentrieren, um strategische Entscheidungen zu treffen. 

Dynamic reporting kann jedoch dazu beitragen, bedeutungslose Unternehmensdaten in echte Geschäftseinblicke umzuwandeln und gleichzeitig die Ressourcen Ihres Teams freizusetzen, damit es sich auf die Bereiche konzentrieren kann, in denen es am meisten gebraucht wird. 

Wie das dynamische reporting die Entscheidungsfindung verbessern kann

Dynamische Berichte unterscheiden sich von herkömmlichen statischen Berichten in 2 wesentlichen Punkten: 

  1. Während statische Berichte sich auf Trends zu einem einzigen, vorher festgelegten Zeitpunkt konzentrieren (daher der Name statisch), dynamische Berichte bieten real-time Einblicke zu den aktuellsten Unternehmensdaten. 
  1. Dynamische Berichte sollten verfügen über interaktive Funktionen, die es Ihnen ermöglichen, tiefer zu gehen in ihre Erkenntnisse zu vertiefen und alternative oder tiefergehende Analysen durchzuführen. 

Während statische Berichte einen fragmentierten und eingefrorenen Blick auf vergangene Trends bieten, konsolidiert das dynamische reporting unternehmensübergreifende Daten an einem Ort und bietet Ihnen einen zusammenhängenden Überblick über Ihr gesamtes Unternehmen. 

Auch auf dynamische Berichte kann von einer einzigen Anwendung aus zugegriffen werden, so dass die Daten nicht mehr in HTML- oder PDF-Formaten exportiert und weitergegeben werden müssen. Dies reduziert nicht nur den Zeitaufwand, den Ihr Team mit manuellen reporting verbringt, sondern schafft auch ein Portal für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen FP&A und dem Rest Ihres Unternehmens. Die dynamischen reporting tools sind außerdem mit Visualisierungsfunktionen ausgestattet, die die Interaktion, Interpretation und Analyse von Unternehmensdaten intuitiver denn je machen. 

Am wichtigsten ist jedoch, dass Dynamic reporting das wertvollste Kapital Ihres Teams, seine Fähigkeiten zur strategischen Analyse, nutzbar macht und es Ihnen ermöglicht, Ihre Energie auf die Erstellung von Analysen zu konzentrieren, die Ihre Führungskräfte so dringend benötigen, um ihre Entscheidungen zu unterstützen. 

Dynamic reporting - Ein Sprungbrett zur Geschäftspartnerschaft

Dynamische Berichte verwandeln unorganisierte, bedeutungslose statische Daten in ständig aktualisierte, verständliche Berichte, die mit eindrucksvollen Grafiken versehen sind. Sie fördern die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Finanzabteilungen und dem Rest Ihres Unternehmens und, was am wichtigsten ist, sie bringen Ihr Finanzteam einen Schritt näher an den Geschäftspartner heran, den Ihr Unternehmen braucht, um ihn zu sein. 

Alle Apliqo-Berichte sind von vornherein dynamisch und mit zahlreichen Funktionen, die Ihnen helfen wichtige Erkenntnisse gewinnen und die Unternehmensstrategie schneller als je zuvor zu steuern. Klicken Sie hier für Ihr kostenloses demo und sehen Sie, wie Apliqo FPM für Ihr Unternehmen arbeiten kann.

Make your reports matter: How dynamic reporting can improve your business

Data is King – you’ve probably heard (and likely repeated) this catchphrase more often than you can count. And it’s true; without good data, the decisions that make or break your business are based on guesswork.

However, in an attempt to gather as many company insights as possible, we see businesses left drowning in data yet starving for information. That’s because data is dead, and only becomes useful when it’s made understandable and actionable. 

So, how can your company avoid drowning in a sea of data and learn to turn the static numbers in your Excel spreadsheets into actionable insights that propel your business to the next level?

In this article we’ll take a look at dynamic reporting, a subset of Data Visualization that can breathe life into your reports, free up resources, and offer an intuitive way to interact with/analyze company data and fuel strategic decision-making. 

Data evolution and the current state of reporting

Take this statement: 

Company Investment A has produced a 3% return over the past 12 months.


Pretty impractical, right?
Now compare it with this: 

Company Investment A has produced a 3% return over the past 12 months. The overall benchmark return for investments is 2.3%, and the best return across the company’s entire asset portfolio is 3.2%


What this simple example shows is that crude data is completely useless. Without interpretation and analysis, data is nothing more than an unorganized, intangible mess of facts and figures that provides zero insight into a company, its performance, or the opportunities/challenges it faces. Nonetheless, most companies find that their finance organizations spend the majority of their time chasing data. 

In a recent AFP/APQC survey, 430 global FP&A professionals reported that they spend 42% of their time gathering data, 33% administering manual processes, and only 25% performing high-value analysis. 

At a time when businesses are relying more than ever on finance to help guide the company ship, CFOs and their teams are still stuck gathering, prepping, and cleansing data, rather than focusing their skills on producing value-added analysis to drive strategic decision-making. 

Dynamic reporting, however, can help transform meaningless company data into real business insights, while simultaneously freeing up your team’s resources so it can focus its attention where it is most needed. 

How dynamic reporting can drive better decision making

Dynamic reports differ from traditional static reports in 2 big ways: 

  1. Whereas static reports focus on trends from a single, predetermined point in time (hence why they’re called static), dynamic reports offer real-time insights into the most up-to-date company data. 
  1. Dynamic reports should feature interactive capabilities that allow you to drill deeper into their insights and conduct alternate or more profound analysis. 

Whereas static reports offer a fragmented and frozen view of past trends, dynamic reporting consolidates cross-company data in one place, providing you with a more cohesive view of your entire organization. 

Dynamic reports can also be accessed from a single application, removing the need to export and share data in HTML or PDF formats. Not only does this reduce the amount of time your team spends on manual reporting, but it also creates a portal for collaboration between FP&A and the rest of your company. Dynamic reporting tools also come loaded with visualization features that make interacting, interpreting, and analyzing company data more intuitive than ever. 

Most importantly, dynamic reporting harnesses your team’s most valuable asset, its skills for strategic analysis, and allow to focus your energy on producing the types of analysis your executives so desperately need to help guide their decision-making. 

Dynamic reporting – A stepping stone to business partnering

Dynamic reports transform unorganized, meaningless static data into constantly-updated, digestible reports accompanied with striking visuals. They promote collaboration between finance and the rest of your organization and, most importantly, take your finance team that step closer to being the business partner your company needs it to be. 

All Apliqo reports are dynamic by design and loaded with features to help you extract key insights and guide company strategy faster than ever before. Click here to your free demo and see how Apliqo FPM can work for your organisation.

Related Posts

More resources

Workforce Attrition Modelling

When you’re embarking on a long-term mission with your company, one of the most common challenges that you face is the impact of staff turnover. With every change in your team comes reduced continuity, increased training costs, and a risk that a misguided replacement hire can slow down growth and progress. However, this is not a risk that you can ever eliminate because some level of staff turnover is unavoidable. The only thing you can do is manage it as effectively as you can. Let’s explore what that looks like in the context of the modern business environment.

Read this article
Workforce attrition modelling

Combining an internal and external focus for improved private market investing

In this article, we’re going to show how you can blend an internal focus (cash flow projections) with an external focus (fund-level benchmarking) to optimise your investment decisions and arrive at more robust and fine-tuned portfolio constructions.

Read this article
In this article, we’re going to show how you can blend an internal focus (cash flow projections) with an external focus (fund-level benchmarking) to optimise your investment decisions and arrive at more robust and fine-tuned portfolio constructions.

Investing with confidence

How Analytical Portfolio Management enables Limited Partners to make better investment decisions.

Read this article
How Analytical Portfolio Management enables LPs to make better investment decisions

Shape the perspective of your storytelling with data

The ability to rapidly synthesize and respond to financial and operational data is not just an advantage, it's a necessity. Decision-makers across large organizations count on insightful reports that are predicated on detailed, bottom-up data to guide their strategic moves. Only through sophisticated reporting and analytics capabilities, we can truly discern the signal amid the noise.

Read this article
Shape the perspective of your data storytelling

How to stay on top of your private market investments

Institutional assets tend to have sophisticated tools in place to manage the liquid assets in their portfolios but these don’t transfer well to the unique needs of private market investments because they provide little to no flexibility in terms of addressing the specific challenges that come with illiquid assets. In this article, we are going to explore the unique aspects of this opaque asset class and show how an analytical portfolio management solution can support investors in making decisions that are backed by real data and models.

Read this article
Private Market Investments