Welche Auswirkungen hat COVID-19 tatsächlich auf Ihr Unternehmen?

Chinas globale wirtschaftliche Rolle verstehen

Um die potenziellen wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen des Coronavirus-Ausbruchs besser verstehen zu können, müssen wir ein solides Verständnis der Rolle Chinas in der Weltwirtschaft haben.

Nach dem Beginn der Wirtschaftsreformen im Jahr 1979 verzeichnet China seit fast 40 Jahren ein beeindruckendes Wirtschaftswachstum. Heute ist China die zweitgrößte Volkswirtschaft der Welt und das Rückgrat zahlreicher Industrien rund um den Globus.

China ist der am schnellsten wachsende Verbrauchermarkt der Welt, die größte produzierende Wirtschaft und der größte Exporteur. Es ist auch die Heimat des Hauptsitzes von 129 Global-500-Unternehmen und hat sich die die größte Handelsnation der Welt seit 2014. Im Jahr 2021 beträgt der Anteil Chinas am globalen Bruttoinlandsprodukt erwartet über 20% zu liegen.

Im Jahr 2018 erwirtschafteten die Chinesen 33% der weltweiten Ausgaben für Luxusgüter. Im selben Jahr gaben chinesische Touristen auch $130 Milliarden im Ausland aus, was sie zu den ausgabenstärksten Reisenden der Welt macht. Mit dem Ausbruch des Coronavirus kam die chinesische Wirtschaft jedoch plötzlich zum Stillstand.

Im Februar 2020 wurde der offizielle chinesische Einkaufsmanagerindex fiel auf 35,7, der niedrigste Stand seit 2004 und ein Zeichen für eine schrumpfende Produktionstätigkeit. In ihrer Verzweiflung, die Ausbreitung des Virus einzudämmen, hat die chinesische Regierung Fabriken und Einzelhandelsgeschäfte geschlossen und die Beschäftigten unter Quarantäne gestellt. Nach Angaben von NPR verhinderten die strengen Quarantänemaßnahmen des Landes 300 Millionen Wanderarbeiter von der Rückkehr an ihren Arbeitsplatz abhalten.

China hat auch Fluggesellschaften gezwungen, ihre Flugzeuge während des chinesischen Neujahrsfestes am Boden zu halten, einem der wichtigsten Feiertage des Landes und einer Zeit, in der viel gereist und ausgegeben wird. Es wird erwartet, dass die Sperrung kosten die chinesischen Fluggesellschaften über $12 Milliarden, während die Luftfahrtindustrie weltweit voraussichtlich $29 Milliarden verlieren wird.

Da China ein so wichtiges Rädchen in der Weltwirtschaft ist, sind die Auswirkungen des Coronavirus-Ausbruchs bereits in ganz Asien, den USA, dem Vereinigten Königreich und Europa zu spüren.

Für Japan zum Beispiel hätte das Coronavirus nicht zu einem schlechteren Zeitpunkt kommen können. Seit Oktober 2019 kämpft das Land mit einem verheerenden Taifun und Steuererhöhungen für Verbraucher, die seine Wirtschaft (die drittgrößte der Welt) um 6% schrumpfen ließen. Jetzt, wo der größte Handelspartner und wichtigste Tourismusmotor des Landes in den Seilen hängt, Es wird erwartet, dass Japan in eine Rezession gerät. 

Auch zahlreiche andere asiatische Länder wie Hongkong, Singapur, Vietnam, Kambodscha, Indien und die Philippinen sind in Bezug auf Handel und Tourismus stark von China abhängig. Singapurs Premierminister Lee Hsien Loong hat angekündigt, seine Befürchtungen vor einer RezessionEr erwartet, dass das BIP seines Landes aufgrund des wirtschaftlichen Stillstands in China um 0,5% schrumpfen wird.

Erst vor wenigen Wochen warnte auch die Deutsche Bundesbank, dass die deutsche Wirtschaft (die viertgrößte der Welt) ernsthaften "wirtschaftlichen Risiken im Zusammenhang mit dem Ausbruch des Coronavirus" ausgesetzt sei. Deutschland ist Chinas größter Handelspartner, Technologieexporteur und zweitgrößter Investor in Europa, und die Analysten von Moody's Investors Service erwarten, dass die die wirtschaftliche Wachstumsrate wird auf nur 1% sinken als Folge des Virus.

In den USA sind die Aktienkurse auf den niedrigsten Stand seit 2008 gesunken und die Zentralbank ist nicht nur Erwägung einer Zinssenkungwurde die Entscheidung getroffen und angekündigt, die Zinssätze um ein halbes Prozent auf die Zielzone von 1% bis 1,25% zu senken. Die Renditen der 10-jährigen US-Staatsanleihen fielen ebenfalls um 11 Basispunkte, während die Kurse von Footsie, DAX, CAC 40 und S&P/ASX 200 als Reaktion auf den COVID-19-Ausbruch um bis zu 2,8% fielen.

Wie kann sich Ihr Unternehmen am besten auf das Coronavirus vorbereiten?

Das Hauptaugenmerk im Zusammenhang mit dem Coronavirus muss natürlich auf seiner Eindämmung und Abschwächung liegen. Die Unternehmen sollten sich jedoch auch der wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen des Virus bewusst sein und wissen, wie sie sich am besten darauf vorbereiten können.

Im Folgenden finden Sie einige Tipps, die Ihrem Team helfen sollen, Ihr Unternehmen so gut wie möglich auf das Coronavirus vorzubereiten:

  • Führen Sie regelmäßig Szenarioanalysen durch: Die Szenarioplanung ist eine der besten Waffen in Ihrem Arsenal für Zeiten finanzieller/wirtschaftlicher Unsicherheit. Im Gegensatz zur Trendanalyse werden bei der Szenarioplanung mehrere plausible Szenarien erstellt und ein detailliertes Bild von den Auswirkungen jedes Szenarios auf die wichtigsten Faktoren Ihres Unternehmens gezeichnet. Jeden Tag gibt es neue Entwicklungen in Bezug auf das Coronavirus. Daher ist es wichtig, dass Ihr FP&A-Team regelmäßig Szenarienpläne durchführt, um darauf vorbereitet zu sein, wie sich der Ausbruch des Virus auf Ihr Unternehmen auswirken könnte.
  • Hüten Sie sich vor dem "Hype": Nachrichtenorganisationen sind darauf bedacht, Schlagzeilen zu machen. Daher können sie nicht immer gut zwischen harten Fakten und Spekulationen unterscheiden. Wenn Sie sich über den Ausbruch von COVID-19 auf dem Laufenden halten wollen, sollten Sie mehr als nur die Schlagzeilen lesen und sich die Zeit nehmen, um zu entscheiden, welche Nachrichten für Ihre Pläne wirklich von Bedeutung sind.
  • Stabilisieren Sie Ihre Lieferkette: Globale Lieferketten sind einer der wichtigsten Wirtschaftsbereiche, die vom Coronavirus betroffen sind, vor allem weil ein großer Teil der weltweiten Produktion in China stattfindet. Achten Sie bei der Durchführung Ihrer Szenarioanalyse genau darauf, wie sich die verschiedenen Ergebnisse auf Ihre Lieferkette auswirken werden, und versuchen Sie, etwaige Unterbrechungen Ihrer Ketten so früh wie möglich zu antizipieren.
  • Verwenden Sie Ereignisbäume: Die Ereignisbaumanalyse ist eine vorausschauende Top-Down-Planungsmethode, mit der Sie die Auswirkungen verschiedener Reaktionen auf ein einzelnes Ereignis untersuchen können. Verwenden Sie sie zusammen mit Ihrer Szenarienplanung, um sich ein klares Bild davon zu machen, welche Reaktionen Ihnen in verschiedenen Szenarien in Bezug auf den Ausbruch des Coronavirus zur Verfügung stehen. Wie bei der Szenarioanalyse sollte Ihr Team darauf achten, dass es sich nicht dazu hinreißen lässt, für zu viele verschiedene Ereignisse zu planen. Konzentrieren Sie sich stattdessen immer auf die Ereignisse, die auf der Grundlage harter Fakten am wahrscheinlichsten sind.

Denken Sie daran, dass das Coronavirus in erster Linie ein Gesundheitsproblem ist. Wenn Ihr Unternehmen davon betroffen ist, sollte Ihre oberste Priorität immer die Gesundheit und Sicherheit Ihres gesamten Teams sein, bevor Sie sich auf Ihr Geschäft konzentrieren.

Für weitere aktuelle Artikel über FP&A sollten Sie ein Lesezeichen setzen unser blog und registrieren Sie sich für unser kommende kostenlose Webinare.

What is COVID-19’s real impact on your business?

Understanding China’s Global Economic Role

To better understand the potential economic repercussions of the coronavirus outbreak, we need to have a solid understanding of China’s role in the global economy.

After launching its economic reform in 1979, China has shown impressive economic growth for almost 40 years. Today, China is the world’s second-largest economy and the backbone of countless industries around the globe.

China is the world’s fastest-growing consumer market, largest manufacturing economy, and biggest exporter. It’s also home to the headquarters of 129 Global 500 companies and has remained the world’s largest trading nation since 2014. In 2021, China’s share of the global gross domestic product is expected to be over 20%.

In 2018, the Chinese generated 33% of global spending on luxury goods. That same year, Chinese tourists also spent $130 billion overseas, making them the world’s biggest-spending travelers. With the outbreak of the coronavirus, however, China’s economy came to a sudden standstill.

In February 2020, China’s official Purchasing Managers’ Index fell to 35.7, the lowest it’s been since 2004 and a sign of contracting manufacturing activity. Desperate to control the spread of the virus, the Chinese government shut down factories and retail stores and quarantined workers. According to NPR, the countries strict quarantine measures prevented 300 million migrant workers from returning to their jobs.

China has also forced airlines to ground its planes during Lunar New Year, one of the nation’s most important holidays and a big time for travel and spending. The lockdown is expected to cost Chinese airlines over $12 billion, while the global airline industry is expected to lose $29 billion.

Given that China is such an important cog in global economics, the repercussions of the coronavirus outbreak can already be seen throughout Asia, the US, UK, and Europe.

For Japan, for example, the coronavirus could not have come at a worse time. Since October 2019, the nation has battled a devastating typhoon and consumer tax hikes that caused its economy (the third-largest in the world) to shrink by 6%. Now, with it’s largest trading partner and biggest tourism driver on the ropes, Japan is expected to go into recession. 

Countless other Asian countries are also heavily reliant on China, for trade and tourism including Hong Kong, Singapore, Vietnam, Cambodia, India, and The Philippines. Singapore’s Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has announced his fears of a recession, with his nation’s GDP expected to drop to a 0.5% contraction as a result of China’s economic standstill.

Only weeks ago, Germany’s Bundesbank also warned its economy (the fourth-largest in the world) was facing serious “economic risks with regard to the coronavirus outbreak.” Germany is China’s biggest trading partner, technology exporter, and second-largest investor in Europe, and analysts at Moody’s Investors Service expect the nation’s economic growth rate will drop to just 1% as a result of the virus.

In the US, stock prices plunged to their lowest since 2008 and the central bank isn’t just considering cutting interest rates, the decision has been made and announced to drop rates by ½ a percent to target zone of 1% to 1.25%. Yields on the US’ benchmark 10-year treasuries also dropped 11 basis points, while Footsie, DAX, CAC 40, and S&P/ASX 200 stocks all dropped by up to 2.8% in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.

How can your business best prepare for the Coronavirus?

Obviously, the main focus regarding the coronavirus needs to be its containment and mitigation. However, businesses will also want to be aware of the economic repercussion of the virus and how to best prepare for them.

Below are some tips to help your team prepare your business as best as possible for the coronavirus:

  • Run regular Scenario Analysis: Scenario Planning is one of the best weapons in your arsenal against times of financial/economic uncertainty. Unlike Trend Analysis, Scenario Planning works by building multiple plausible scenarios and painting a detailed picture of the effects each scenario will have on your company’s key drivers. Every day harbors new developments regarding the coronavirus, so it’s important your FP&A team run regular scenario plans to stay prepared on how the outbreak of the virus might affect your company.
  • Beware of the “hype”: News organizations are concerned with making headlines. Hence, they don’t always make the best distinction between hard facts and speculation. As you stay up-to-date regarding the COVID-19 outbreak, make sure you read more than just the headlines and take your time to discern what news is really worth considering in your plans.
  • Stabilize your supply chain: Global supply chains are one of the main economic areas affected by the coronavirus, mainly because China is behind so much of the world’s manufacturing. As you run your Scenario Analysis, pay close attention to how different outcomes will affect your supply chain and try to anticipate any interruptions to your chains as early as possible.
  • Use event trees: Event Tree Analysis is a forward-looking, top-down planning method that helps you explore the effects of multiple responses to a single event. Use them together with your Scenario Planning to really paint a clear picture of what responses are available to you in different scenarios concerning the coronavirus outbreak. Like with Scenario Analysis, make sure your team doesn’t get carried away planning for too many different events. Instead, always focus on the events that, based on hard facts, are the most probable.

Remember, the coronavirus is most importantly a health issue. If it affects your company, your top priority should always be caring for the health and safety of your entire team before focusing on your business.

For more up to date articles about FP&A, make sure to bookmark our blog and register for our upcoming free webinars.

Related Posts

More resources

The most important part of your rolling forecasts is data consistency

In this article, we’re going to explore how data consistency is key to M&A transactions – especially when a transaction takes months (and in some cases, years) to close.

Read this article
In this article, we’re going to explore how data consistency is key to M&A transactions – especially when a transaction takes months (and in some cases, years) to close.

Impact and Influence: How to determine the KPIs that truly matter

Not every KPI is created equal however and, as with so many decisions, the devil is in the details. In this article, we’ll explore how to select the right KPIs for your business so that you can align your company with the incentives that actually matter.

Read this article
Not every KPI is created equal however and, as with so many decisions, the devil is in the details. In this article, we’ll explore how to select the right KPIs for your business so that you can align your company with the incentives that actually matter.

Don’t underestimate the amount of preparation required for an M&A transaction

In this article, we’re going to delve into what this preparation looks like and hopefully, by showing the scope and scale of what is needed, we can help CFOs and their teams to better understand how much work actually needs to happen before they sit down at the negotiation table.

Read this article
In this article, we’re going to delve into what this preparation looks like and hopefully, by showing the scope and scale of what is needed, we can help CFOs and their teams to better understand how much work actually needs to happen before they sit down at the negotiation table.

How companies unlock value in their Net Working Capital

In this article, we’ll outline some key considerations and how Apliqo can help incorporate working capital management into the general finance planning process through scenario and sensitivity analysis

Read this article
How Companies unlock value in their Net Working Capital

5 ways that CFOs create value in their organisation

The role of a CFO is a highly prized one and one that carries significant cache within any company. It is one of the few positions that cover a broad scope of responsibilities both at a strategic level and within the lower day-to-day perspectives of running the FP&A activities. As such, a CFO’s focus can easily slide if they don’t have a clear understanding of what the priorities are and how they’re driving real value in the company. In this article, we’re going to explore 5 key ways that CFOs create value – and how the various Apliqo solutions can accelerate them.

Read this article
5 ways that CFOs create value in their organisation